Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New here - pickup question

Hello friend.
    i am new to this forum and i am not a sound expert so sorry for some silly questions.
    I have 4 guitars - 2 custom fender style , 1 prs like guitar (a cheap one) and a gibson studio.

on my fenders i have different woods and pickups
    one with me over 18 years - i think it is alder body with maple neck and scalloped brazilian rosewood - active emg pickups (HSS).
    the second fender style is a walnut body with maple neck and seymour duncan alnico 2 humbuckers (HH).
    the gibson studio is mahagony with gibson 490-489 humbuckers (HH)
    the prs lookalike guitar is very cheap and awful sound with unbranded humbuckers but the body is mahagony also.

i am looking to improve the sound of the guitar and i thought about 2 options :
    1. to replace the gibson pickups with better pickups and put them on the prs.
    2. to install affordable but good pickups on the prs while the gibson will stay with the 490.

I am looking for a warm sound , for allaround playing - mostly ROCK sound , i love the sound of steve lukather , gary moore , bon jovi.

there are some pickups that i thought about but any suggestion will be great :
    Dimarzio Transition
    Bare knuckles mule
    Gibson burstbucker or classic 57
    seymour duncan seth lover (that will be the affordable ones i think).

please help me with that and guide me to find the good tone.

i use Laney tube amp (i think vc30) i use vox multi effect (with a tube also).

thank you very much

Re: New here - pickup question

Bareknuckles get a good rep, as do the Seths. I think you'd be happy with either. Stick them in the Gibson.

Comment

AlexR - thank you
      and what about the PRS style ?
      do you think the seths will be good there ?

Comment