Soldering Novice here... need some help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soldering Novice here... need some help

So i just created an account just for this post basically, since i've spent the past few days scratching my head over this problem. So i replaced 2 of the pups in my old squier strat hss (JB in the bridge, Fender Texas Special in the neck, stock middle) and when i went to plug in the first time there was a horrible buzz. Not a normal single coil buzz either. So i did some research and ended up resoldering all the ground wires again in case of bad connections. Still the same buzz. I tried soldering wires in different places too, i.e. soldering the grounds to different backs of pots and what not. I also tried using my volt meter, and everything looks normal on there, so i'm really confused. If you have any ideas/knowledge as to what this might be, all help is appreciated! Thanks.

(Also, i know it's not my amp, cable, or even electric interference since i've tried 2 different amps and cables with this guitar and my other one, and the other guitar works flawlessly).

Re: Soldering Novice here... need some help

Can you post pics? You might have a bad switch or pot. I had an issue years back when I first started electric with a horrible buzz almost like I had stomped a Gain pedal, when I used the neck pup ( I had individual toggle on/off switches for the pickups on that guitar). Turned out that the switch was bad.
    sigpic
    Ibanez SA 120- Bridge JB Trembucker Neck Jazz
    JFG Flying V,
    "If you hear something you're unable to play, then you have room to grow."-Al Di Meola
    John 8:32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free."

Comment

Originally posted by dancox27 View Post