Pegasus & Sentient vs. Ibanez Dyna Mix 10 switch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pegasus & Sentient vs. Ibanez Dyna Mix 10 switch

This is my first post here, please be gentle.

I am not a complete noob when it comes to (guitar) electronics but this isn't my day-job either. With that said, I have this dilemma regarding an SD Pegasus & Sentient set wired through an Ibanez Dyna Mix 10 switch.

These are the standard combinations on an Ibanez guitar featuring Dyna Mix 10:

1a: bridge humbucker
    2a: bridge "down" coil + neck "up" coil
    3a: bridge humbucker + neck humbucker
    4a: bridge "up" coil + neck "down" coil
    5a: neck humbucker

1b: bridge power tap
    2b: bridge "down" coil
    3b: bridge power tap + neck power tap
    4b: neck "down" coil
    5b: neck power tap

I assume that "humbucker" means two coils in RWRP configuration. With SD colors, that would be "down" coil start as Green, end as Red, connected to "up" coil start as White and end as Black. I also assume that in position 2 and 4 without power tap, the two pickups will operate as one humbucker, at least on an Ibanez AZ series HH guitar. For this to be true, the magnetic polarity would have to inverted between the two pickups. So if the bridge humbucker is North/South, the neck should be South/North. So in position 2, neck South + bridge North would operate as humbucker, and in position 4, neck North + bridge South would also. However, the adjustable polepieces in the SD Hiperion are "up" on the neck, and "down" on the bridge, and according to SD, on SD humbuckers the adjustable polepieces ALWAYS indicate South.