DiMarzio FRED

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DiMarzio FRED

Hello everyone. I got a Ibanez RG coming soon that has a FRED installed in the bridge. I have never tried that pickup before and I was wondering what everyone's thoughts were about it. Good pickup, or something to replace? How do you like it and what guitar is it in? Thanks!

Re: DiMarzio FRED

Have you heard anyone hear play in person, or know their style......so you can filter the results from those who are more likely to have similar tonal goals to yours??

I've had so many 'pickup surprises' over the years that I have given up the foolishness of 'internet judging' anything, and always wait until the guitar and pickup is played to judge.

Comment

I have a feeling I will be surprised by it. If not, I have 10 different pups laying around

Comment

I've used one several times in different guitars.

The well-known Satriani association considered, it's a great all-around rock pickup. Really articulate and clear without being to bitey and with enough bass and midrange to have you sit well in a mix. Overdrive characteristics from amp to amp really get highlighted, especially in the midange. Plays really well with all kinds of overdrive and distortion, and really harmonic-sensitive. I like it a lot.

Comment

i had a rg550 with a fred in the bridge and i loved it

Comment

I still have one in an Ibanez RG with a Paf Joe in the neck. It is one of may favorite bridge pickups for those guitars. It isn't as fat as some bridge pickups, but it has good growl, and I like the EQ.

Comment

How come the fred always sounds like a full shred on paper, and when people describe it?

How similar or not are they?

Comment

I heard a lot of comparisons to the Screamin Demon. I mean I guess I can hear it.

Comment