banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I install a trim pot to lower the output of my Neck Pickup?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I install a trim pot to lower the output of my Neck Pickup?

I have a Jazzmaster with some new Noiseless pickups I just bought from a major highly rated boutique pick up manufacturer... The neck pickup is 30% louder than the bridge and middle position. I want to add a trim pot to the neck pickup - find the sweet spot then leave it in the guitar. I have tried switching the pickups, raising and lowering to no avail. It's got 500 K volume and tone pots.

Does anyone know which trim pot to get (on Amazon) and how to wire it up?

Hey Pcor. Welcome to the forum. A "trim pot" is nothing more than a smaller volume control. There's no good way to implement it into the guitar that won't change the tonal character of the pup. I'm not trying to tell you spend more money, but you simply need to find the pup combination that works for you. Sorry. Trim pots won't do it.

But wait for other opinions.

Comment

Not to ask the obvious, but since you posted very little info...
      did you try raising the bridge pickup close to the strings and lowering the neck pickup down from the strings to balance the volume?
      Are you positive your pickup selector switch is good? A dirty or worn one will cause volume drop, in this case for the bridge and middle settings. Try temporarily hooking up a wire to bypass the switch and see what happens.
      Are you certain the wiring is good?

Forgive me if this is all elementary to you, but it's always best to rule out simple problems first and you didn't mention any of these things.

Comment

Originally posted by ArtieToo View Post