Grounding a hardtail strat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grounding a hardtail strat

I just got a XGP hardtail strat body from guitarfetish. It's pretty much exactly what I expected for $79, except there is no hole drilled from the cavity to the bridge to run a ground wire. I'm not opposed to drilling the hole myself if need be, but if there is another way to get the guitar wired and grounded with the body as is, that would be preferred. i've never done a build 100% myself before, i usually leave this stuff to the pros, so if there is an obvious answer go easy on me!
    Quality riffs in about a minute...
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2B...Y3EewvQ/videos

Get the drill out. Go at an angle to the bridge pickup cavity or control cavity. Doesn't matter where you do it as long as the wire contacts the bridge.

Comment

There's no special secret way to doing it; you gotta get a wire from the bridge to [wherever you're sticking your ground wires, usually the back of a pot]. There's no replacement for a bridge ground wire, no other part you can run a wire to. There has to be a wire under the bridge, no other way.
      You can either do it the quick and very messy way of dragging a wire up through the bridge pickup cavity and just running it along the top of the body to the bridge, which usually causes the pickguard to not sit flat and generally looks terrible, or you do it the proper way and drill a hole through to the control cavity.