Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me pick a magnet for my A2Pro bridge

Folks,

I gave the A2Pro bridge a try and it just isn’t for me. I get what it does but I really prefer something like a custom hybrid.

My gripes are: too warm (perfect for the neck for me but not the bridge) and slightly low output. The latter is minor but generally I prefer the bridge to have higher output than the neck (I have it with a matching A2Pro in the neck that I love).

Before swapping it I thought I could try some magnets. I first thought trying an A5 to try a Jazz Bridge (never tried it) but then I wondered about A8 here. I have no experience with A8.

What do you guys think?

A8 sux. Try something else that you haven't tried such as A6.
    The things that you wanted
    I bought them for you

Comment

rough cast A5 maybe, so it still kind of matches with the neck a bit. Jazz bridge would be too different.

Comment

What about UOA5? It should theoretically be halfway between an A2P and Jazz.

Comment

Originally posted by Clint 55 View Post
          A8 sux. Try something else that you haven't tried such as A6.
          as always, Clint is right

A6 is a solid choice in for an A2 pro bridge, particularly if its too warm / smooth and you want a little bit more bite, but you still want it to be nice and fat sounding

Addiction Fx sells normal A6 bar mags
          Philadelphia Luthiers sells extra thick A6 mags for use in Lipstick pickups that actually do wonderful things to a bridge humbucker
          Gibson LP, Burstbucker 3 A6, 490R A4
          Gibson LP, Pearly Gates A6, Sentient A4
          Gibson LP BFG, Burstbucker A8, P90
          Gibson SG special T, GFS Crunchy Mini, Gibson mini A3
          Strat SSS, SD STK-6 , SSL1 middle, Bootstrap Sparkle Neck
          Strat HSS hardtail, Perpetual Burn A6, Bootstrap Sparkle mid/neck
          Tele, DMZ Area Hot T, Gibson Mini A3
          Tele, DMZ Pegasus A2, Gibson Mini A3