No announcement yet.

Need Help Dialing a Les Paul in.....looking at possibly Phat Cats or P Rails

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help Dialing a Les Paul in.....looking at possibly Phat Cats or P Rails

I have an early Les Paul Classic, gorgeous guitar, great neck, really like it....but the sound is pretty bright....I've tried BKP Mules, SD 59's and JB's....and it just stays bright, I have a few of these, so I know it's probably partially the wood tone....I've never tried fat cat P90's or P Rails before....I was just thinking if I can't get it done with Buckers, I do like P90's....think that might add some lower end growl to it? If I can't figure it out, she's going up for sale, which would be a shame. Running a modded Blackstar HT60 and a Splawn Quickrod btw.

Welcome to the forum!

Phat Cats can still sound pretty bright. P-Rails might be a good choice, but there are certain settings (of used with Triple Shots) which might make your problem worse. I might look at a set of Alnico II Pros, which sound like 2 sticks of butter. Not bright at all.
    Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Is the neck bright or only the bridge? You could change the volume pot on the bridge to 250k. That would be an easy solution. I've never encountered a neck hb that I thought was too bright.
      The things that you wanted
      I bought them for you

Comment

LP Classic 1960 owner here. Got one with the snot green inlays. I swapped the original pickups for a pair of Gibson Classic ‘57 (+). Some people consider these to be dark and lifeless due to combination of wax potting, even wound coils and Alnico II magnets; but I found these to be a perfect match with my LP Classic for old school LP sounds. I left the wiring harness stock, just a pickup swap.

Comment