banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Two SH-2b's at the same time? Is this a bad idea?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two SH-2b's at the same time? Is this a bad idea?

Hi,

I'm new here and I'm hoping some of you more experienced folks would consider chiming in.

I've been a drummer 25 years (I know, I know) and have always dabbled in guitar and now I'm getting a little more serious. I recently bought an Ibanez AS73fm and want to swap out the pickups. I play blues, general rock, some hard rock. I was originally thinking Jazz/JB but have started to think the JB might be a too hot, so I started looking around. I know I want a jazz in the neck, but I'm considering a jazz bridge pickup for the bridge position. I found some old posts that seemed to make a good case for this. While looking those over, I noticed people suggesting using an SH-2b in the neck position. Would it be a bad idea to do an SH-2B in both positions in a semi-hollow? Is it, tonally-speaking, pointless? Further, I have some thoughts about push-pull splitting them as well.
    Last edited by BMKE; 07-18-2023, 03:37 PM.

welcome to the forum!

i would suggest a sh2n and sh2b, not two sh2b models. the sh2b in the neck is great when using a hotter pup in the bridge like a distortion or dimebucker or something like that. with a jazz bridge, i would always use a jazz neck

Comment

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. That makes sense. I'm finding myself overwhelmed with options. I'm thinking a sh-2b but still considering 59/Custom hybrid or maybe the Alnico II pro. From the samples I've heard, I don't think I like the custom 5 or the Pearly gates. But still not sure if I should also be considering the regular 59 or the Seth Lover. Spoilt for choice, I suppose.

I didn't really mean for this to turn into a more detailed "which should I get" post, but it appears to have done so. I hope it isn't too annoying. If anyone is willing to weigh in, I'd appreciate it.