Strat positions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strat positions

I'm new to the SSS Strat world and was wondering what the traditional use for each position 1 through 5 was, and what types of EQ curves are generally idea for each position?

All I know to begin with is that 2 and 4 don't usually cut through as well.

Welcome to stratland.. of course a lot has to do with style of music and the rest of the signal chain, but there are quite a few generalities.

Start with the neck pick up. It easily provides a warm driving tone for lead and a relatively thick rhythm sound that is still significantly more articulate than a humbucker on a 24.75 guitar. It's my favorite crunched position on a strat.

Position four is your first "quack" position... As you noted, it can be less powerful but if adjusted correctly, it provides the quacky somewhat nasal cutting tone that can cut through a mix on lead. And for the same reason it is my 2nd favorite rhythm position because one three and five are louder for soloing. This is my second favorite crunched position on a strat.

For me, most of the time the middle pickups purpose is to create that quack between the middle and the neck and the middle in the bridge and positions two and four. It can be a somewhat boring pickup at times by itself. It tends to be very clean, with an almost acoustic sound and I have used the middle pickup to get a clean chorus acoustic kind of tone many times.

But the middle pickup can also be very useful. I have one strat where it does provide great quack in two and four, however it also acts as a good lead and rhythm pickup that falls directly in between one and five. So it's a bit of a trade-off but you can get a very good three position with the right pup.