measuring magnets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• measuring magnets

I picked up a Gauss meter so I could start measuring the stacks of bar magnets I have collected. Along with some neodymium magnets so I could recharge any weak ones. But I'm new to this and I'm still learning what a bar magnet "should" typically read.

I found a website that listed the following ranges:

A2: 530-590g
    A3: 470-490g
    A4: 630-670g
    A5: 710-770g
    A8: 1200-1320g
    ceramic: 1250-1300g

For those with knowledge of this stuff, does this seem accurate? Any better resources you can share for this info? Also, do you have any tips on measuring bar magnets to get consistent readings? Again, I'm just new to this stuff and trying to learn. Thanks very much.

Originally posted by Supernautilus View Post
    I found a website that listed the following ranges:

A2: 530-590g
    A3: 470-490g
    A4: 630-670g
    A5: 710-770g
    A8: 1200-1320g
    ceramic: 1250-1300g

For those with knowledge of this stuff, does this seem accurate?
    The proportions and order are accurate to me: A3<A2<A4<A5<A8<Ceramic= typical scale.

The values may vary according to the meter used + its calibration and to how a magnet is measured: put the probe of your gaussmeter above the poles of a humbucker then directly on a magnet (but on different spots) and you should see what I mean. ;-)

Duncan user since the 80's...

Comment

Originally posted by freefrog View Post

The proportions and order are accurate to me: A3<A2<A4<A5<A8<Ceramic= typical scale.

The values may vary according to the meter used + its calibration and to how a magnet is measured: put the probe of your gaussmeter above the poles of a humbucker then directly on a magnet (but on different spots) and you should see what I mean. ;-)