Getting started on slide guitar?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting started on slide guitar?

I've been playing guitar for 9 years now, but I've never played slide my entire life.

I do own one, but I'm terrible with it and never cared for it.

Today I bought a Derek Trucks Band CD and my mind was blown, I decided to start learning how to play slide

What's a good starting point?
    I don't know anything about slide guitar, not even what artists to listen to and all that

Re: Getting started on slide guitar?

i don't know how to play slide that well either, but if you want to hear some cool slide stuff check out the early allman brothers stuff, like live at filmore east.
    Yo, i'm Ryan™.

https://www.facebook.com/patchworklv
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=der6aGGzQTk
    ^link to 7 tracks of my band, Patchwork

Comment

open C tuning would be a good starting point
      CGCGCE

When the going gets tough And the stomach acids flow
      The cold wind of conformity Is nipping at your nose
      When some trendy new atrocity Has brought you to your knees
      Come with us we'll sail the Seas of Cheese

Comment

Originally posted by super rad ska View Post
        i don't know how to play slide that well either, but if you want to hear some cool slide stuff check out the early allman brothers stuff, like live at filmore east.
        +1

After that, find out the guys that Duane listened to, and find those records and learn that stuff.
        - Tom

Originally posted by Frankly
        Some people make the wine. Some people drink the wine. And some people sniff the cork and wonder what might have been.
        The Eagle never lost so much time as when he submitted to learn of the Crow.

Comment

I'm not real good at it, either, but I want to be. I plan on picking up this DVD...

http://secure.nps1.net/guitarworld/?

Comment