Help me construct a recording setup for around $300

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me construct a recording setup for around $300

Yeah. I'm looking to finally record some decent guitar tones. So, from the ground up, can you give me some advice on what to get mic, usb audio interface and monitors-wise for a simple desktop recording setup? I already have Cubase 5 and Adobe Audition for tracking.

I think I have a good idea of what would be good, BUT I'm often wrong when it comes to things I'm new at and I'd rather not waste money on junk. I know I'd like 0 latency, and I've been told to achieve that, the audio interface has to have monitor outs. Right?

For the mic I'm looking at a Sennheiser E609: http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com...ELAID=26021096

For the audio interface I'm looking at the M-Audio MobilePre USB: http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com...ace?sku=701368

For monitors... I have no idea what might be good.

Hell, I don't even know if I'm going about any of this the right way! That's where you guys come in. So, speak to me about basic guitar recording as if I was a small child. Help me build this sucker already.
    Last edited by TheLivingDead; 11-12-2010, 03:42 AM.

Re: Help me construct a recording setup for around $300

It looks like you have some good options already selected. I don't know about monitors though. That mike looks pretty good. I've always just used a SM57, but the one you linked to seems better since it is designed for guitar.

My recording setup is pretty simple....Boss GT-6 straight into the soundcard. If I need to add vocals I run the mike through my GT-6 on bypass, and it still allows me to adjust the line level. Someday I will get a unit like the M-Audio above. It should allow for better sound.

Sorry I wasn't more help, but I haven't slept all night and I thought I'd just type something....LOL.
    My Sound Clips

Comment