How is this mix?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How is this mix?

I've been playing with this all day long, trying to get close to a, ZZ top, mix.
    I'm still learning how all of this works, but it is getting better.

The playing is just goofing off, I only did one take of everything. I'm just trying to figure out the mix.

I know the little lead in it needs the gain dropped some more, and I have to get it set right in the mix. I'm just having a hard time finding the right frequencies to put it in.
    The rhythm is close to where I want it, I just need to play it again and clean it up.

Do the drums sound like they are in the right spot, as far as the mix goes? And does the bass sound like it's in the right range?

I've made myself crazy messing with it today, maybe one of you guys can help me out.

Warmoth Tele with Quater pound set- Green Rhini-Blackheart Handsome Devil- 57 Beta- Fast Track 2- FL Studio..... For anyone who cares.
    Last edited by karpathion; 01-03-2012, 01:58 PM.

Re: How is this mix?

the guitar tones sound great, but the drums could do with a lot of work.

I think the kick could've used some more definition and "click" for lack of a better word..the sound of the beater impact.

I'd like to hear a bit more low end in the snare as well.

Also a little bit of room reverb on the whole drum mix couldn't hurt either.

Comment

I'll have to play around with that kick some more for sure. I hear what you're talking about now. I'll just have to find a better sounding kick in this software.

I can definitely bring the lows out a little more on the snare, and reverb is no problem. I'll give it try.

On a side note. My uncle and a buddy of mine, told me to stop ripping off George Thorogood!
      I didn't hear it until they said something. It does sound a little like Thorogood.

Comment

Great start.