Picking Technique - My Thoughts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Picking Technique - My Thoughts

I was going to respond to another thread with this, but it sort of blew up into its own thing so... Offering a few thoughts on what I've (re)learned about picking in the last couple years as I basically taught myself guitar over again after a decade-long break. I'm not an expert but - A few things that helped me along the way with my picking technique, something that was a particular struggle for me:

-I got more solid by using thinner picks; thick picks I once used made me sloppy in maintaining an even pick angle with the strings, since they just power through the strings anyway. You need to maintain the correct angle on a thin pick more carefully to get an even "hit" vs. the pick scraping/sliding off. Thin picks lack dynamics, so I do need to switch it up every once in a while if you want to practice that; but I do still go back to thinner picks on occasion to keep my geometry correct

-Blunt-tipped picks (like a Jazz I or a nickel) also cause me to be more strict and disciplined with pick angle (again at the cost of dynamics)

-On the other hand, thicker picks require greater hand strength and minute muscle control to use, thus you can develop greater hand strength using them

-I had a habit to hold the pick waaay toward the end, not choking up enough. Using a smaller pick (Jazz I or Jazz III) helped

-Thinner strings (treble in particular) offer far less picking feedback than thick strings; for example, it's a lot easier to tremolo pick say the low E than the high E. I attribute a lot of that to the lack of feedback the thin strings offer when you hit them (especially if you use a thicker pick.) So... I practice with thinner strings