Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A very late change....

Hey everyone,

O.k. this may be a little long....(sorry)

Recently I've decided to change part of my picking technique, I need some positive reinforcement !!!

Ive been playing for nearly 20 years just for fun and I came up during the 80's shred era so even though my tastes have changed, I still appreciate a killer run / arpegio etc. as long as it's tastefully done.

When I was beginning this journey I concentrated on speed, and as far as my picking style goes it's basically standard alternate style...the difference comes when I change strings, if I am running through a scale say from low to high starting on the low E string, (3 notes per string for example) i'll start with a down stroke then up then down...so far so good...when I shift to the A string I repeat the same picking sequence...down / up / down, I continue this for as long as I am heading in the same direction down the neck ( or towards the floor if that helps). When I am running though a decending scale it is reversed...up / down / up...next string...up / down / up etc.

I originally figured that this would save any extra movement in my picking hand and indeed when I';ve spent some time in the wood shed I can blaze through some scales, it also translates nicely to sweeping.

My problem is that when I want to do fast scale fragments where there are a lot of turn arounds, I lose control at the point I am changing directions in the scale.

In the past week I have been practicing the TRUE alternate picking technique, that is; in an ascending 3 note per string scale...down / up / down...next string...up / down / up...next string...down / up / down...etc.

I can see where the turn-arounds will be much less problematic, but MAN !!