Should I get a Line6 Toneport UX2?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I get a Line6 Toneport UX2?

I was looking at the toneport and was wondering if I should get it. I am new to recording (but i have a little zoom 4-track). I would use it as a headphone practice amp and for direct recording if the sounds are good. I want to use it to record band practices, myself (with multiple tracks) and maybe my band for demos. I would use it with a dell laptop. Do I need to get a recording program? Is it all worth it? I figured it is less than most DAWs.

Re: Should I get a Line6 Toneport UX2?

It's not particularly well suited for recording an entire band at once, though if you're going thorugh a mixer, you should be able to send those stereo outputs into LIne 1 and Line 2 and do it that way. For home recording, no more than two tracks at a time, it really shines. I saw someone else here mention that they're having latency problems on their rig, which they seemed to think SHOULD be up to the task, but I've no such trouble with mine. Neither has my buiddy who also has one, for that matter, and he's on a nearly 4 year old Dell.

It comes with a stripped down version of Ableton Live. I can't imagine choosing to stick with that, but it'll do in a pinch. The track "Got Me Pegged" on the site in my sig was done entirely with the UX2. Guitar, bass and vocals all used Toneport models. While I'm sure Line6 would shudder at the thought of someone using ME as an example of what their product can do, it's there.
    ---------------------------
    The most popular thread I've ever made was 1) a joke and 2) based around literally the most inane/mundane question I could think of. That says something about me, or all of you, or both.

https://forum.seymourduncan.com/show...or-for-a-Strat

Comment

i am really happy with that!!!
      All of my clips are recorded with the ux2... http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...?bandID=493381