DON'T WANT TUBE AMP DISTORTION

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DON'T WANT TUBE AMP DISTORTION

I'm thinking about getting a low watt (<10) cheap tube amp just for cleans. This amp is a novalty thing, I have a Peavey Vypyr 30 head/cab which kicks ass, I just always wanted a tube amp (not for $2000+ though). All the amps that meet the watt/$$ criteria only have a volume control, which is fine, don't really care. What I don't like is the volume is also a gain, so the higher up it is the dirtier it is. Kinda defeats the purpose with it being only for cleans. I have NO experience with tube stuff, can I do some swapping and make the vol. just a vol.? Maybe put in tubes that need a lot of push to get them to get dirty then putting them in a little 2-5 watt amp with no push to it? I don't know, I'm new at tubes & talking out my a$$.
    LTD M-50 W/ AHB-1 Blackouts.
    Thinline W/GFS Classic II
    Soloist W/Duncan Detonator
    LP W/GFS Crunchy Pats
    Blackstar HT5-H.
    Custom 112 cab W/G12 75T.

Re: DON'T WANT TUBE AMP DISTORTION

Anything less than 15 tube watts is going to break up most likely more than you wish. Tube swaps won't change it to do what you want. You'll just be chasing your tail. You need to step up to 40 or 50 tube watts to get solid loud cleans. I'm speaking in general terms.

www.CelticAmplifiers.com

"You can't save everybody, everybody don't wanna be saved."

Comment

So get a nice solid state amp instead?

www.CelticAmplifiers.com

"You can't save everybody, everybody don't wanna be saved."

Comment

Need more than 10 watts for good cleans.
        Last edited by guitfiddle; 04-27-2012, 07:17 PM.
        - Tom

Originally posted by Frankly
        Some people make the wine. Some people drink the wine. And some people sniff the cork and wonder what might have been.
        The Eagle never lost so much time as when he submitted to learn of the Crow.

Comment

low wattage amps are not for cleans. Wattage = headroom.