Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's High action?

in terms of say... 64ths?

I ask because I'm looking for a very clean sounding setup on my guitars. i googled high action and slide setup but found nothing in terms of measurements, any help would be great thanks.

Re: What's High action?

Totally depends on your guitar, neck radius, neck relief, bridge type, etc, etc.

I don't play shred and I don't play shred-oriented guitars. I've always been told that my action is generally either high or medium-high when other dudes play my guitars. I like my E strings to be about 2.5mm to 3mm above the 12th fret.

I think that's as high as I would go without running into intonation issues. I'm no expert on set-ups, though. It very well might be possible to compensate for that.

I haven't read it in a while, but there may have been some consensus reached in this other thread you started.
    Last edited by Kam; 06-02-2011, 09:32 PM.
    I remember calloused hands and paint-stained jeans, and I remember safe-as-houses self-belief.

Comment

Betting big on the underdog?

Comment

Its gonna be subjective depending on how hard you play and your exact guitar.... Why not just keep raising it a quarter turn until you get the sound your after? Why do you need a precise measurement? Go by ear and feel.
        "It keeps you fit - the alcohol, nasty women, sweat on stage, bad food - it's all very good for you." -Bon Scott

"Let me put it this way: the 5150 will treat
        you better than any girlfriend, because it screams louder, it's easier to pick up, and it shuts up when you take your plug out." -Rip Glitter

Comment

Originally posted by Kam View Post
          I think that's as high as I would go without running into intonation issues. I'm no expert on set-ups, though. It very well might be possible to compensate for that.
          You can intonate for that, although the temperment across the fretboard may not be as precise as a nice medium low action.