The Guitar You Wish You’d Bought Earlier

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Guitar You Wish You’d Bought Earlier

I started playing in the early 90’s. Not long after learning about SGs, Les Pauls, Strats, and Teles, I discovered Paul Reed Smith. Loads of bands I loved were using them, and the magazines were teeming with ads picturing these classic but modern looking guitars.

Every so often I’d encounter one in person, and they looked and played great. Started jonesing for one, and a quarter of a century later, I finally got one. I’d wanted to hold out for a “real” one, but stumbled onto a good trade deal for an SE. Loved it enough that it kicked me into gear, and I just got an S2 a week ago.

This guitar is everything I’ve been chasing for the last hundred plus guitars I’ve bought, sold, and traded. I can’t help but feel a little dumb for waiting this long to make it happen.

Anybody else take 25 years to get the one?
    “I can play the hell out of a riff. The rest of it’s all bulls**t anyway,” Gary Holt

Re: The Guitar You Wish You’d Bought Earlier

When I started playing I was all about the Stratocaster and Strat tones. It seemed like every player I was into was playing them. For years I owned Strats exclusively, but I did buy a tele at one point. Then after years, decades really, I started getting the itch for a Gibson guitar with humbuckers. I couldn't really afford one at the time, so I swapped the Tele for a Studio faded. It checked off all of my boxes, I wanted the 50's neck profile, affordable, and because it was a bottom of the totem pole sort of Gibson; I wouldn't think twice about modding it. I played it stock for about a year, then overhauled it with 50's wiring, PIO caps, Pearly Gates pickups, and Grover lockers. The only issue the guitar had left was the factory nut was cut wrong, and binded and caused tuning issues; that was an easy fix.