MY DREAM GUITAR ARRIVED TODAY....REALLY

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MY DREAM GUITAR ARRIVED TODAY....REALLY

I'm sure you find it hard to believe, with all the guitars that pass through my hands....

I'm a HUGE Ace Frehley fan...HUGE!!! He is the reason I started playing guitar. I've met him 3 times over the past 30 years. The last time, which was December 14, 2019, I asked Ace to sign my left shoulder...I had it tattooed in the next morning. Yeah...hardcore.

Anyway...the guitar!!! Its a 1998 Gibson Ace Frehley Les Paul Custom. When the 4 original members of KISS reunited back in 1996, Gibson did a limited run of these guitars in conjunction with Ace. There was a CS run of 300, then there were the standard production models....this is a standard production model.

It has all the features of a LP Custom with some added ACE BLING. This particular guitar is 9 lbs, 7oz. The neck is a medium C carve, around .850. Three DiMarzio Super Distortion pickups. Ebony board with special inlays. And an Ace graphic on the headstock.

I had one of these back in 2000. Who knows why, but i ended up selling it. The past few years I had been keeping an eye out to acquire another one of these, but the prices absolutely went through the roof!!! I had kinda given up on even being able to get one of these again. This one came along for a price that was the best i had seen in a long time...so I went for it! Its been played...but I didnt buy it to hang on a wall. It gonna get gigged.

It had been over 20 years since I had had one of these in my hands...I'm a much different guitar player than I was back then. This guitar feels great. The weight isnt too bad. Its sets up really nice..medium/low action. Great sustain. The sound is pure Rock n Roll!!! Its not shrill or ice picky...its just a great rock tone!!! I'm very happy with the sound through my JCM 2000.

IMG_6910 by brent HENDERSON, on Flickr

IMG_6911 by brent HENDERSON, on Flickr