Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greg Bennett Avalon Pick-Up Recommendations

Guys,

Hi. I'm new to the threads, however I wanted to solicit your opinions (if you have one) about a guitar I've owned for a years now, a Greg Benett, Samick Avion Model Les Paul.

My problem with the current tones it produces are this:

I've been recording a lot using a Traynor YCV80 amplifier and I just recently produced our band's (The Lower Eastside Connection) self-titled album (in case you want to hear for yourself on CD Baby). In the making of this album, I recorded some guitar parts (although technically I am the bassist) after our original guitarist quit, and our newest guitar player recorded the others. He is using an Epiphone Les Paul model guitar and his tones are FAR better than mine. When I say better I mean that his guitar has far more clarity, articulation and sizzle or high end cripsiness that really cuts through! The solo's or leads were especially astounding, but also the rhythms just stand out more and I'm telling you it's the guitar, not the player.

The only time I have been able to get close to this sound is using plugins (hold your gasping) and jacking up the high end on some Amplitube pedals and such, and it's still not quiiite as good as micing my Traynor. Let's face it, no plugin will be like the real thing. Take everything except the guitar out of the equation since I used the same amp in the same room, with the sam emic and same cables etc.

I want to improve the sound of my Greg Bennet model, and I'm thinking pickups is the way to go since I can't afford another guitar (and if I could I am someday planning to buy a Fender Strat).

Can you recommend to me a good pair of pick-ups that will not kill my funds? (2 kids in daycare is enough)

Keep in mind I had the bridge pickup engaged and tone set almost all the way to high, and he did the same and there's a distinct difference between the guitars.