No announcement yet.

Amplifier Will not work...please help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amplifier Will not work...please help.

Okay I plug my guitar into my peavey rage 152 amplifier.
    It will not work right however. The sound is always clean, even if I switch it off clean and turn the gain all the way up.
    I want to play metal, but no matter how I adjust it it will not distort the sound at all.
    Please help here.

Re: Amplifier Will not work...please help.

Originally posted by ratherdashing
    If inviting 200 drunken strangers to your parents house is wrong, then I don't want to be right.

Comment

? What is that?
      I'm a noob to guitars so I don't know...

Comment

With most solid state amps, the problems are usually related to input jacks or switches.

If you're getting a clean channel signal, but not the gain channel signal, then you can probably rule out a bad input jack. The amp would be silent if that were bad. Make sure the master volume is up, if it has one.

If you switch to the gain channel and it goes dead, then the first things to look at are the switch........the two solder points where it joins the circuit board. Turn all the pots and see if the sound cuts in/out.

With a cheap amp like that, it can be cost prohibitive to take it to a tech, since the bench fee is equal to the price of another practice amp. In that case, see if you have a friend who's knowledgable about electronics who can look at it.
        Originally posted by Boogie Bill
        I've got 60 guitars...but 49 trumpets is just...INSANITY! WTF!

Comment

It works but its the same on both the clean channel and the distorted channel.
          All clean on both channels, no matter how I set the volume and tone pots.
          I just don't get this....its aggravating cause I want to play it...
          Do you think if i took it apart and cleaned all the switch contacts that it would work again?

Comment