banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Passive bass pickups with active EQ--underrated setup?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Passive bass pickups with active EQ--underrated setup?

Just browsing Reverb listings fueling the GAS window shopping habit.

Saw a few basses with passive pickups but active tone controls.

Basses seem to fall into active pickups/active preamp varieties or fully passive varieties for more traditionalists.

I see passive pickup/active preamp combos on occasion, as well as those with passive/active switches (90s Carvin LB76s come to mind, 80s-90s Peavey Dynabasses).

I was wondering what everyone's opinion is on these less common setups since I'm not a proper bass player.

As a guitarist, I prefer to tweak my bass on an amp head or in software, as I find it more exact than adjusting on the instrument. So active preamps really aren't that important to me.

I prefer the warmer sound of a passive bass over an active bass, especially a PJ. Everything active and hi fi sounds too much like a bass synth sample. Easier to mix but I find the tone less pleasing than a passive bass. Just having something in the bridge to give the P a bit more clarity and attack helps a lot.

Much thanks.

I seem to remember David Ellefson, whose tone I really respect as what Jason Newsted's tone should have been, saying in the 90s he tended to favor passive for recording and active for live since it cuts through better.

Maybe I will come to this consensus as well.

Comment